Aidan Berg

Bengals Super Bowl history: When is the last time Cincinnati made it to, won the Super Bowl?


After falling 23-20 to the LA Rams in Super Bowl LVI–the Bengals’ first Super Bowl appearance since 1988, Cincinnati is back in the playoffs and looks to avoid the “hangover” of a Super Bowl loss by becoming just the 9th team to make a repeat appearance to the big game the year after losing. See below for more on the Bengals Super Bowl history as well as additional information on how to watch Super Bowl LVII.

RELATED: What to know about Super Bowl 2023 – Date, location, halftime performance info, and much more

When was the Bengals’ last Super Bowl appearance?

Cincinnati’s last Super Bowl appearance was last year at SoFi Stadium where the Bengals fell 23-20 to the LA Rams. The Bengals last Super Bowl appearance prior to that came in the 1988 season against the San Francisco 49ers. The Bengals took down the Seattle Seahawks and Buffalo Bills en route to the Big Game.

RELATED: 2023 NFL Playoffs Schedule – Bracket, game dates, times and TV networks for the Conference Championships and more

The first half was a rock fight that ended at 3-3, but the Bengals took a 13-6 lead in the third quarter on Stanford Jennings’ 93-yard kickoff return touchdown. From there, though, Joe Montana engineered two touchdown drives, including the game-winning 10-yard scoring pass to John Taylor with 39 seconds remaining.

RELATED: When do the 2022 NFL Playoffs start: dates, schedule, playoff format, overtime rules, and more

Before the 2021 season, Cincinnati had won just one playoff game since that heart-breaking loss.

RELATED: 2023 NFL Playoffs AFC, NFC Championship Round Schedule – Dates, start times, how to watch/live stream info for Sunday’s games

When was the Bengals’ last Super Bowl win?

Cincinnati is the only team of the conference finalists that has not won a Super Bowl. Their only other appearance came in the 1981 season, also against Joe Montana and the 49ers.

San Francisco built a 20-0 halftime lead with the help of three Bengals turnovers, and despite a five-reception, 107-yard effort from now-NBC announcer Cris Collinsworth, Cincinnati was unable to claw its way back in. Montana and Co. won the franchise’s first of five Super Bowl titles by a score of 26-21.

The Bengals played just two seasons in the AFL before joining the NFL in 1970, so they have no league championships of any kind to their name. That makes this year’s opportunity even more significant for the team.

Bengals Super Bowl history

  • 2021 season: Lost Super Bowl LVI vs. the LA Rams, 23-20
  • 1988 season: Lost Super Bowl XXIII vs. the San Francisco 49ers, 20-16
  • 1981 season: Lost Super Bowl XVI vs. the San Francisco 49ers, 26-21

How can I watch and live stream Super Bowl 2023?

  • When: Sunday, February 12, 2023
  • Where: State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona
  • TV Channel: FOX
  • Follow along with ProFootballTalk and NBC Sports for NFL news, updates, scores, injuries, and more

RELATED: PFT’s NFL divisional round picks

Follow along with ProFootballTalk for the latest news, storylines, and updates surrounding the 2022 NFL Season, and be sure to subscribe to NFLonNBC on YouTube!

How to watch Sunday Night Football on Peacock:

If you have access to NBC via your TV provider, you can watch Sunday Night Football on your TV or with a TV provider login on the NBC Sports app, NBC app, or via Check your local listings to find your NBC channel. If you can’t find NBC in your channel lineup, please contact your TV provider.

If you don’t have access to NBC via your TV provider, you can stream Sunday Night Football on Peacock with a $4.99/month Peacock Premium plan.  Sign up here or, if you already have a free Peacock account, go to your Account settings to upgrade or change your existing plan. 

Please note that selection of a Premium plan will result in a charge which will recur on a monthly or annual basis until you cancel, depending on your plan. You can cancel your Premium plan at any time in your Account.

What devices are compatible with Peacock?

Peacock is available on a variety of devices. See the full list here.

In addition to Sunday Night Football, what else can I watch with Peacock Premium?

Premium is your key to unlocking everything Peacock has to offer. You’ll get access to all the live sports and events we have, including Premier League and WWE Premium Live Events like WrestleMania. You’ll also get full seasons of exclusive Peacock Original series, next-day airings of current NBC and Telemundo hits, plus every movie and show available on Peacock. There is always something new to discover on Peacock Premium.

Follow along with ProFootballTalk for the latest news, storylines, and updates surrounding the 2022 NFL Season, and be sure to subscribe to NFLonNBC on YouTube!

Collins, Kvitova advance to Adelaide International quarters

Getty Images

ADELAIDE, Australia — Last year’s Australian Open finalist Danielle Collins needed seven match points but advanced to the Adelaide International quarterfinals with a 6-3, 7-6 (2) win over Swiss qualifier Jil Teichmann.

Collins never lost serve in the first set against Teichmann, although she saved two break points in the eighth game. But she came from 3-1 down in the second set, and won four straight games.

She failed to serve out the win, which set the stage for the match’s most dramatic game. From 0-40 down. Teichmann saved five match points on her serve to level the second set at 5-5, after six deuces.

Collins, who lost the 2022 Australian Open final to Ash Barty, later won six of the first seven points of the tiebreaker.

In an earlier match, two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova kept her perfect 2023 record intact after an injury-forced early end to her match against Zheng Qinwen.

After coming from 5-3 down in a 71-minute opening set, and saving three set points in the ensuing tiebreaker to win it 8-6, Kvitova moved through when Zheng retired due to a left thigh injury.

“It’s not nice to end the match as we (did). I wish her all the best for the (Australian Open) which is soon,” Kvitova said on court after the match.

Kvitova, who has been ranked as high as No. 2 in the world and currently sits at No. 16, beat Wimbledon champion Elena Rybakina in the first round.

In men’s play, Thanasi Kokkinakis beat top-seeded Andrey Rublev 6-4, 3-6, 6-3. Local player Kokkinakis will take on Miomir Kecmanovic in the quarterfinals after the Serbian eliminated Australian Jason Kubler 5-7, 7-6 (1), 6-4.

Alejandro Davidovich Fokina beat John Millman 6-3, 6-3 to also advance to the quarterfinals.

Irad Ortiz sets single-season record with 77th stakes win

Getty Images

NEW YORK – Jockey Irad Ortiz Jr. earned his record 77th single-season North American stakes victory when he guided Dr B to victory in the $200,000 Go for Wand at Aqueduct.

The 30-year-old native of Puerto Rico broke the old mark of 76 set by the late Hall of Fame rider Garrett Gomez in 2007.

“This is great. Amazing feeling,” said Ortiz, Jr., who won the Eclipse Award as outstanding jockey from 2018-20. “Gomez did it in 2007 and he was a great rider, one of the best in the game. I’m so happy just to be a part of this. I love this sport.”

Ortiz Jr. won the Belmont Stakes with Mo Donegal in June to go with Breeders’ Cup victories in the Juvenile, Filly & Mare Sprint and Sprint. He also earned nine other Grade 1 wins in New York, including Life Is Good in the Woodward and Whitney and Nest in the Alabama and Coaching Club Oaks. He won riding titles at Belmont’s spring-summer meet and Saratoga’s summer meet.

Ortiz Jr. leads North American riders with 304 overall victories this year. His purse earnings totaled over $35.8 million going into Saturday’s races, which already surpassed his single-season record of $34.1 million in 2019.