Triple Crown schedule 2022: Dates, order for Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont horse races

Triple Crown 2022
Sarah Stier/Getty Images
1 Comment

The race for the 2022 Triple Crown continues with the 147th Preakness Stakes on May 21st. It will be hosted at the Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Md.

On May 7 at the 148th Kentucky Derby, Rich Strike set off as a massive 80-1 underdog and started near the back of the field. The three-year-old colt took advantage of the fast race pace and blasted off to the front of the pack at the end of the final stretch to win cross the wire first.

Related: When is the 2022 Preakness

On June 11th, the 154th Belmont Stakes will cap the 2022 Triple Crown schedule. The last leg of the Triple Crown will be held at Belmont Park in Elmont, NY.

Who was the last Triple Crown winner?

The most recent Triple Crown winner was Justify, trained by Baffert and ridden by Hall of Fame jockey Mike Smith, in 2018. His win came just three years after another Baffert horse, American Pharoah, won the Triple Crown.

What are the three races of the Triple Crown?

Triple Crown 2022 order:

  1. Kentucky Derby (May 7). Winner: Rich Strike
  2. Preakness Stakes (May 21)
  3. Belmont Stakes (June 11)

Length of Triple Crown races, distances:

  1. Kentucky Derby – 1 1/4 miles (10 furlongs)
  2. Preakness Stakes – 1 3/16 miles (9.5 furlongs)
  3. Belmont Stakes – 1 1/2 miles (12 furlongs)

List of Triple Crown winners: 

  • Sir Barton (1919)
  • Gallant Fox (1930)
  • Omaha (1935)
  • War Admiral (1937)
  • Whirlaway (1941)
  • Count Fleet (1943)
  • Assault (1946)
  • Citation (1948)
  • Secretariat (1973)
  • Seattle Slew (1977)
  • Affirmed (1978)
  • American Pharoah (2015)
  • Justify (2018)

Watch the 147th running of the Preakness Stakes on Saturday, May 21 on NBC,, the NBC Sports app and Peacock.

Stradivarius, 3-time Ascot Gold Cup winner, retired to stud

Getty Images
1 Comment

LONDON – Stradivarius, one of the most famous racehorses in Britain and Ireland after winning the Gold Cup at Ascot three times, has been retired to stud.

Bjorn Nielsen, the owner of Stradivarius, said he felt it would be unfair to make the horse come back next season as a 9-year-old after time away with a bruised foot.

“It has been a fairytale from start to finish,” Nielsen told British newspaper The Racing Post.

Stradivarius, bred in Ireland and the son of Sea The Stars, won 20 of his 35 races – including seven Group One races – and earned almost 3.5 million pounds (now $3.8 million) in prize money.

Stradivarius won four Goodwood Cups, three Yorkshire Cups and two Doncaster Cups.

Taiba wins $1 million Pennsylvania Derby for Baffert

Getty Images
1 Comment

BENSALEM, Pa. – Taiba won the $1 million Pennsylvania Derby by three lengths for Hall of Fame trainer Bob Baffert.

Ridden by Mike Smith, Taiba ran 1 1/8 miles in 1:48.67 and paid $4.80, $3 and $2.60.

It was Baffert’s fourth win in the Grade 1 event at Parx Racing. He also won in 2014, 2017 and 2018. Smith won the race for the third time, all aboard Baffert horses.

Zandon returned $3.80 and $2.60. Cyberknife was another 3 3/4 lengths back in third and paid $3 to show.

Taiba was coming off a second-place finish in the Haskell Invitational at Monmouth in July. The colt was 12th in the Kentucky Derby under Tim Yakteen, who took over training him while Baffert was serving a 90-day suspension.

“He had a little bit of a rough trip in the Haskell, but we had some time to get him ready for this one,” Baffert said from his base in California. “He proved today he is a good horse. He is getting better and better.”

Baffert Taiba will be pointed toward the $6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic in November. The colt has three wins in five starts this year.