MLB Opening Day 2022: When does the baseball season begin this year?

Los Angeles Dodgers defeat the Philadelphia Phillies 5-3 during reopening day at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.
Getty Images
1 Comment

After an offseason of uncertainty and a 99-day lockout, baseball is back in session and MLB Opening Day is here. For the first time ever, Peacock will be the exclusive home to a new Major League Baseball game of the week on Sunday mornings.

Click here to sign up for Peacock and watch MLB games live on Sunday mornings!

Peacock will stream a total of 18 games beginning on Sunday, May 8 as the Chicago White Sox take on the Boston Red Sox from Fenway Park (11:30 a.m. ET). The first six Sunday games will begin at 11:30 a.m. ET while the remaining 12 Sunday games will start at noon. See below for the 2022 MLB on Peacock schedule and some answers to your frequently asked questions surrounding the start of the season.

When does the 2022 MLB Season begin?

Opening Day for the 2022 MLB season is officially set for Thursday, April 7 with seven games taking place on Opening Day (Red Sox vs. Yankees and Mariners vs. Twins were both postponed due to weather).

Despite the delayed start, the MLB will stick to its 162 game slate featuring 30, nine-inning doubleheaders to make up some of the 91 games postponed by the lockout.

RELATED: MLB makes up for lockout postponements with 30 doubleheaders

What is different about this MLB season?

The new collective bargaining agreement includes several changes but here are a few key takeaways:

  • Both leagues will now have a designated hitter.
  • There will now be 12 teams in the postseason (six teams per league) rather than 10 teams.
  • There will be an increase in competitive balance tax thresholds.
  • The minimum salary for players will increase to $700,000 for 2022.
  • The first six picks in the draft will be determined via lottery to discourage tanking.

You can read more about the MLB’s new CBA deal here.

2022 MLB on Peacock Schedule

Date Time Matchup
May 8 11:30 a.m. ET Chicago White Sox at Boston Red Sox
May 15 11:30 a.m. ET San Diego Padres at Atlanta Braves
May 22 11:30 a.m. ET St. Louis Cardinals at Pittsburgh Pirates
May 29 11:30 a.m. ET San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
June 5 11:30 a.m. ET Detroit Tigers at New York Yankees
June 12 11:30 a.m. ET Oakland Athletics at Cleveland Guardians
June 19 Noon ET Philadelphia Phillies at Washington Nationals
June 26 Noon ET New York Mets at Miami Marlins
July 3 Noon ET Kansas City Royals at Detroit Tigers
July 10 Noon ET Los Angeles Angels at Baltimore Orioles
July 17 Noon ET Kansas City Royals at Toronto Blue Jays
July 24 Noon ET Chicago Cubs at Philadelphia Phillies
July 31 Noon ET Detroit Tigers at Toronto Blue Jays
August 7 Noon ET Houston Astros at Cleveland Guardians
August 14 Noon ET San Diego Padres at Washington Nationals
August 21 Noon ET Chicago White Sox at Cleveland Guardians
August 28 Noon ET Los Angeles Dodgers at Miami Marlins
September 4 Noon ET Toronto Blue Jays at Pittsburgh Pirates

RELATED: Freeman, Dodgers agree to $162 million, 6-yr deal