Notre Dame Football 2021 schedule: Dates, times, TV channel, Peacock live stream, how to watch

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: SEP 02 Temple at Notre Dame
Getty Images
1 Comment

The 2021 college football season is almost here and NBC Sports has you covered with all you need to know about Notre Dame’s football schedule this fall including start times, dates, opponents, how to watch the Fighting Irish and more.

RELATED: Toledo Rockets bring experience and frustration to Notre Dame

How to watch Notre Dame football on Peacock

Notre Dame’s home opener against Toledo on Saturday, September 11 will air exclusively on Peacock, NBCUniversal’s newest streaming service. In addition, all Notre Dame home games during the 2021 season will air on Peacock Premium. All home games aside from the matchup against Toledo will air on NBC. More details from the NBC Sports press release:

Notre Dame Football coverage will stream on Peacock Premium. Peacock Premium is included at no additional cost for Comcast’s eligible Xfinity X1 and Flex customers and Cox Contour customers. Viewers can sign up at Peacock is widely available across devices, details here.

Prior to the Notre Dame-Toledo game, Peacock will offer fans a limited time offer to save on Peacock Premium during football season — details will become available at on Wednesday, August 11.

This year, NBC Sports Group and Notre Dame will kick off their 31st season. NBC Sports Group and the University of Notre Dame began their landmark Notre Dame Football relationship in 1991 and have renewed the partnership numerous times. Peacock previously streamed the 2021 Blue-Gold Game.

RELATED: How to watch Cincinnati vs. Notre Dame today

Mike Tirico will call the Fighting Irish‘s home games this year alongside Drew Brees, who will make his college football debut as a commentator when Notre Dame takes on Toledo at 2:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, September 11. Kathryn Tappen will be the sideline reporter for Notre Dame on NBC games this season.

2021 Notre Dame football schedule

Date Time (ET) Opponent TV & Live Stream
Saturday, Sept. 5 7:30 PM at Florida State ABC
Saturday, Sept. 11 2:30 PM vs. Toledo Peacock
Saturday, Sept. 18 2:30 PM vs. Purdue NBC, Peacock
Saturday, Sept. 25 12:00 PM at Wisconsin FOX
Saturday, Oct. 2 2:30 PM vs. Cincinnati NBC, Peacock
Saturday, Oct. 9 7:30 PM at Virginia Tech ACC Network
Saturday, Oct. 23 7:30 PM vs. USC NBC, Peacock
Saturday, Oct. 30 7:30 PM vs. UNC NBC, Peacock
Saturday, Nov. 6 3:30 PM vs. Navy NBC, Peacock
Saturday, Nov. 13 TBD at Virginia Tech TBD
Saturday, Nov 20 2:30 PM vs. Georgia Tech NBC, Peacock
Saturday, Nov 27 TBD at Stanford TBD

All games in bold are home games airing on Peacock and/or NBC.

When will UCLA, USC join the Big Ten Conference?


The Big Ten has served as one of the nation’s premier intercollegiate athletic conferences for over 125 years. Originally founded by a group of seven universities led by Purdue president James H. Smart, the group has grown by leaps and bounds since its formation in 1896. The conference that was originally comprised of seven teams grew to an eventual 14, and is now set to expand to 16 with the groundbreaking addition of UCLA and USC to the Big Ten.

RELATED: Big Ten primetime football finds a home in NBC and Peacock

When will USC, UCLA join the Big Ten?

Crosstown rival programs USC and UCLA both announced in summer 2022 that they will leave the Pac-12 Conference for the Big Ten on August 2, 2024.

The move rocked the college football world, considering the length of time that both schools were members of their previous conference. USC had held Pac-12 membership since 1922, winning a total of 39 conference football titles and nine basketball titles in that span. The UCLA Bruins were a part of the group since 1928, taking home 16 football and 32 basketball conference titles in those years.

UCLA and USC’s transition was announced on the heels of Oklahoma and Texas confirming their departure for the SEC last season, a move that is set to transpire ahead of the 2025 college football season.

Come 2024, the Pac-12 will be comprised of only 10 members, while the Big Ten will stretch from coast to coast.

RELATED: Click here for NBC coverage of college football

What schools are in the Big Ten Conference?

  • University of Michigan
  • Ohio State University
  • Penn State University
  • University Maryland
  • Michigan State University
  • Indiana University
  • Rutgers University
  • Purdue University
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Wisconsin
  • University of Nebraska
  • Northwestern University
  • USC (will join in 2024)
  • UCLA (will join in 2024)

Why is it called the Big Ten?

Despite its current 14 members, the conference retains its title of “Big Ten” to this day. The name originated after Michigan rejoined in 1917, bringing the membership from nine to 10 teams. Media members were the first to dub the group the “Big Ten”, which was eventually confirmed as the conference’s official name in 1987.

RELATED: Purdue, Penn State to battle for Big Ten basketball title

How can I watch Big Ten football, basketball and more?

While Big Ten football coverage for the 2023 season will be split among NBC, Fox and CBS, NBC and Peacock will be the home of the conference’s biggest game every week with Big Ten Saturday Night. NBC Sports’ new agreement with the Big Ten will also feature coverage of several men’s and women’s basketball games, Olympic sports, golf and more.

It became official in August of 2022 that NBC will air Big Ten Saturday Night on NBC and Peacock, with a primetime football game each fall weekend.

How to watch the 2023 All-American Bowl: TV channel, live stream info, start time, rosters, and more


The 2023 All-American Bowl takes place this Saturday, January 7 inside the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas as 100 of the nation’s top senior football players will go head-to-head in this highly anticipated all-star game.

Live coverage begins at 1:00 PM ET on NBC and Peacock. See below for additional information on how to watch the 2023 All-American Bowl.

RELATED: Finalists Named for 2023 All-American Bowl’s Player of the Year Award

The All-American Bowl made its debut in December 2000 at Highlander Stadium in Dallas, Texas and since then has become one of the most-watched high school sporting events in America. Notable alumni that have participated in the event include NFL Wide Receiver Odell Beckham Jr. (2011), Dallas Cowboys Running Back Ezekiel Elliot (2013), Jacksonville Jaguars QB Trevor Lawrence (2018), former Broncos QB Tim Tebow (2006), former Cleveland Browns OT Joe Thomas.

RELATED: 2023 All-American Bowl Rosters

How to watch the 2023 All-American Bowl:

RELATED: Finalists Named for 2023 All-American Bowl’s Player of the Year Award

How do I watch sports on Peacock?

Sign up for a Peacock Premium plan to start watching. With Peacock Premium, you can watch all our live sports like Premier League, Sunday Night Football, and cycling; next-day airings from channels like NBC, USA Network, and Telemundo; plus all the movies and TV you want on Peacock.

If you want to watch everything ad-free,* choose our $9.99/month Peacock Premium Plus plan.

*Please note: due to streaming rights, a small amount of programming will still contain ads (Peacock channels, events, and a limited number of shows and movies).

You can change or cancel your paid plan anytime.

What devices will Peacock support?

You can enjoy Peacock on a variety of devices. View the full list of supported devices here.