Watch the NatWest 6 Nations Championship on NBC Sports Gold

NBC Sports

The opening round of the NatWest 6 Nations Championship kicks off on Saturday. England will look to defend last year’s championship in the 19th series.

France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales will look to take England down throughout the five rounds of play, concluding in March. The tournament will continue to use the bonus point format that was used last year. Each match can be seen on the NBC Sports Gold Rugby Pass.

See the Full Schedule | Learn more about NBC Sports Gold Rugby Pass

Wales v. Scotland Preview:

Scotland’s victory over Wales in last year’s Championship snapped a 10-year losing streak against their old enemy. Now they head to Cardiff looking to break an even longer drought – not since 2002 have the Scots descended on the Welsh capital and emerged victorious.

France v. Ireland Preview:

Saturday evening in Paris brings a clash of contrasts. A new-look France under Jacques Brunel take on a settled Ireland side who have been hit the least hard by injuries of any of the home nations.

Italy v. England Preview:

Reigning champions England travel to Italy to kick-off their NatWest 6 Nations which could conclude with an historic third straight Championship success. However, they face five nations desperate to knock them off their perch starting with Italy who welcome the Red Rose to the Stadio Olimpico in Rome.